Vegan Marbled Banana Bread

2

February 9, 2013 by synthiat

During the last week of my Vegan Challenge, I wanted to bake a vegan sweet of some sort. I looked for the easiest recipe and the one with the least amount of ingredients as possible. I found the Vegan Marbled Banana Bread by Post Punk Kitchen, and it was perfect.

I didn’t have all the ingredients so I had to go out and buy them. I also had to wait for the bananas to ripen enough.

Some of the ingredients.

Some of the ingredients.

To make this banana bread, the ingredients list and directions can all be found at Post Punk Kitchen. I did make a second loaf with reduced sugar for my Grandma.

Here are the ingredient amounts I had for the second batch that I made:

  • 3 riped bananas
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1/3 unsweetened almond milk
  • 3/4 baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 6 tablespoons boiling water

For 1 cup of mashed bananas in the original recipe, it’s about 3 average sized bananas. I used three in most of my batches but I think 3 1/2 to 4 bananas is best.

ripe bananas

Banana bread batter.

Banana bread batter.

Cocoa mix.

Cocoa mix.

You can play around with how you make the bread look marbled. The first time I had my younger cousin swirl the cocoa mix throughout the whole batter. But the second loaf, I decided to make it look marble-y.

Batch #1 before my younger cousin swirled it all.

Loaf #1 before my younger cousin swirled it all.

Batch #1 result.

Loaf #1 result.

The inside of bread #1.

The inside of loaf #1.

Loaf #2 before it went in the oven. Less swirl, more marble!

Loaf #2 before it went in the oven. Less swirl, more marble!

Loaf #2 result.

Loaf #2 result.

The inside of loaf #2.

The inside of loaf #2.

One thing you have to be careful of is over mashing the bananas. A problem I had was soapy taste from the bananas because it was over mashed. To ensure that this won’t happen, I suggest getting an actual mixer. I mashed the bananas by hand so that could be why.

If you do try this out, it’s better to eat it fresh. Otherwise, if it’s pre-made, heat it up so it tastes as if it just came out of the oven!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Marbled Banana Bread

  1. Bernice says:

    This looks fabulous!!!

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

All original content is property of Eat. Snap. Post. and copyrighted, unless otherwise indicated. No copyright infringement is intended.

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

