Grandpa’s Birthday Dinner

2

February 15, 2013 by synthiat

For my Grandpa’s birthday, the whole family went to a restaurant to celebrate. We always rotate between the numerous Asian restaurants that are close by. As well, the same dishes are ordered. When you have over 30 people in your family, it gets very boring.

The restaurant we went to is called Congee Dynasty. It may have “congee” in its name but there’s more than just congee. It’s your typical Chinese restaurant but they also have Thai food.

Anyway, for my Grandpa’s birthday, we ordered from a big menu option. This menu has a variety of dishes in each option. Below are the dishes from the option selected. I don’t  know the correct dish name but I’ll describe what is in each to the best of my abilities (Sometimes I just know the Chinese name or I don’t even know what it is but I just eat it).

Congee Dynasty

Congee history.

Congee history.

Dish #1: Selected meat (chicken, duck and pork) and jellyfish.

Dish #1: Selected meat (chicken, duck and pork), jellyfish and mango.

Dish #2: Fried crab balls.

Dish #2: Deep fried crab balls.

Dish #3: Stir fried seafood in Bird’s Nest.

Dish #4: Shark fin soup.

Dish #4: Shark fin soup.

Dish #5: Cold, yellow chicken. (I never eat this dish)

Dish #5: Cold, yellow chicken. (I never eat this dish)

Dish #6: Dried scallop, vegetables and mushroom.

Dish #6: Dried scallop, vegetables and mushroom in some kind of sauce.

Dish #7: Steamed fish in soy sauce with green onions.

Dish #7: Steamed fish in soy sauce with green onions.

Dish #8: Lobster!

Dish #8: Lobster!

Dish #9: Fried rice.

Dish #9: Fried rice.

Dish #10: Yi mein.

Dish #10: Yi mein.

Dish #11: Little red bean buns.

Dish #11: Little red bean buns.

Look how tiny it is!

Look how tiny it is! So cute!

Dish #12: I don't know the actual name but it contains coconut milk (or cream), red bean, grass jelly and other jellies.

Dish #12: I don’t know the actual name but it contains coconut milk (or cream), red bean, grass jelly and other jellies. This was the final dish.

An up close shot of the last dish.

An up close shot of the last dish.

Birthday cakes for my Grandpa. One I think was coffee flavoured and the other was a chestnut cake.

Birthday cakes for my Grandpa. One I think was coffee flavoured and the other was a chestnut cake.

 

2 thoughts on “Grandpa’s Birthday Dinner

  1. kerbey says:

    what pretty pictures!

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

All original content is property of Eat. Snap. Post. and copyrighted, unless otherwise indicated. No copyright infringement is intended.

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

