Dinner at Nikki and Lina’s

2

April 17, 2013 by synthiat

This post is way overdue but better late than never! Back in January and February, I had the pleasure at staying over at my good friends, Nikki and Lina’s, apartment. The two times I stayed over this year, we made our own dinners and cupcakes!

My January visit we made this Tortellini Bake that I found on Pinterest and cupcakes. I think we used most of the ingredients in the recipe minus one or two. Here’s what the recipe calls for:

  • 20 oz frozen or refrigerated tortellini
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 1 24-oz jar jar of spaghetti sauce of your choice
  • 3 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1/3 cup skim milk
  • 1 cup grated parmesan cheese, divided
  • ½ teas garlic powder
  • ½ teas dried basil
  • ½ teas dried oregano
  • 1 cup mozzarella cheese

For full baking directions, visit the recipe on Pass the Sushi.

tortellinbake

Tortellini Bake accompanied with salad.

Tortellini Bake accompanied with salad.

While we waited for the tortellini bake, we baked cupcakes (multi-tasking for the win!). We took the recipe for Nickelodeon’s website. I don’t know the link to the site but I’m sure if you search for it, you can find it. I found the recipe by searching up “simple cupcake recipe”.

Here are the beautiful and delicious cupcakes that we baked and decorated:

cupcakes

 

For my February visit, Nikki and Lina had planned to make Shepherd’s Pie. I don’t know which recipe they were using – I think it was one that Nikki’s mother made. We couldn’t figure out how to get the bottom right but we improvised.

Here are the layers to the Shepherd’s Pie we made:

Bottom layer: ground beef with peas and onions, topped with eggs slices.

Bottom layer: ground beef with peas and onions, topped with eggs slices.

Isn't this egg slicer so neat?!

Isn’t this egg slicer so neat?!

Top layer: mashed potatoes (I think we added cheese at the end).

Top layer: mashed potatoes (I think we added cheese at the end).

And to accompany our meal, these cute drinks were just the touch.

drinks

A perfect match.

A perfect match.

 

– Synthia T.

2 thoughts on “Dinner at Nikki and Lina’s

  1. Nikki says:

    Love it! 🙂 Sadly it was just one I found on the internet for the Shepard’s pie. I probably should have asked my mother for her recipe though because hers is amazing lol

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

All original content is property of Eat. Snap. Post. and copyrighted, unless otherwise indicated. No copyright infringement is intended.

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

