Okonomi House

2

August 10, 2013 by synthiat

This is a very late post (trying to catch up on everything!) but I’m finally posting it! Back in April, my friends Susan, Firyal, and I went to Okonomi House in Toronto. Susan and Firyal have been here before, mentioning how great the okonomiyaki is. If you don’t know what okonomiyaki is, it’s a Japanese pancake. Piled on top of it, you can have beef, chicken, vegetable, seafood, etc.

This was my first time having okonomiyaki so I had no clue what to expect.

Here’s what I ordered:

suno mono salad

Suno Mono Salad

The Suno Mono Salad was good but it had a little too much of the rice vinegar. From what I can remember it was a decent size for an appetizer. If I ever go back, I would consider ordering it again.

Vegetable Okonomiyaki

Vegetable Okonomiyaki

Usually I would have ordered the chicken or beef, but instead I opted for the vegetable okonomiyaki. The pancake is very light, and made out of egg. It’s similar to an omelette. So the vegetables were mixed with the egg. Then there’s the sauce, the mayonnaise (big, yellow blot in the middle), and if you want, you can add the flakes (I recommend it!). As an okonomiyaki first timer, I was satisfied.

Edamame (Susan got this and we all shared it.)

Edamame (Susan got this and we all shared it.)

There’s not need to comment on the edamame – how you can you go wrong with that?! Overall, I had a great experience at the Okonomi House. I would like to go back and try the other dishes. If you’re ever in Toronto and are up for Japanese pancakes, I suggest hitting up this place. They don’t have a website or anything but here’s their Google+ page.

 

– Synthia T.

2 thoughts on “Okonomi House

  1. Hooray! Food! says:

    Japanese is my very favorite cuisine! Those dishes look great. Yum!

  2. I adore Japanese food, especially edamame. I always keep a couple of bags of frozen edamame at home for an easy snack. I’ve never had okonomiyaki but I like the look of the okonomiyaki places where you cook them yourself. Interactive food is fun but maybe not on my first try.

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

All original content is property of Eat. Snap. Post. and copyrighted, unless otherwise indicated. No copyright infringement is intended.

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

