The Construction Site

Leave a comment

January 5, 2014 by synthiat

I went to Sherway Gardens today and while I was looking around for places to eat from in the Food Court, I saw “Grilled Cheese” at The Construction Site and knew I had to order from there.

If the words “Grilled Cheese” had not been put on the sign, I would not have known what the fast food place served. I rarely ever have grilled cheese. And the most frequent time I did was during first year of university. That was only because I had a meal plan to get rid of.

Anyway, there was no one in line for this place. I guess it’s difficult to compete with McDonald’s, Hero Burger, KFC, Taco Bell, and Thai Express. But it was good because then my order should be done right since there’s no need to rush. Once, I got my order placed then people started coming.

I had never eaten from this fast food place before so I didn’t know what to expect. Part of me was hoping it would have some fancy grilled cheese sandwiches like the ones at Melt Grilled Cheese in downtown Toronto. I ended up ordering the “All Day Breakfast” grilled cheese.

The “All Day Breakfast” is basically an eggs-in-a-basket with cheese in the middle. The sandwich comes with either potato chips or salad and your choice of dip. I chose potato chips and the chipotle dip. The whole thing is served in a box. I should note that the centre of the sandwich that’s cut out for the egg was also given in the box.

DSC_7579_2

The sandwich was good, I mean you can’t mess up grilled cheese, but I wish there was a bit more to the sandwich. I don’t think it was worth the price though. If you could put more toppings within the sandwich, then I’d say the price would be fair. But for cheese, eggs and potato chips for $7, that’s kind of pricey.

Overall, the sandwich was good for what it is. I feel like I should have tried the more gourmet sandwiches, like The Joe Carter or The Caprese. The chipotle dip didn’t really taste like chipotle. It was more of a french onion dip. But all in all, I did enjoy my grilled cheese sandwich.

– Synthia T.

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

All original content is property of Eat. Snap. Post. and copyrighted, unless otherwise indicated. No copyright infringement is intended.

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

