Juice Cleanse: Day 1

1

June 2, 2014 by synthiat

I’ve been M.I.A lately on this blog, and I apologize for that. I’ve been busy with starting a YouTube channel with my cousins, getting more into my hand lettering designs, working, and barely eating anything worth noting or rarely seeking interesting places to eat at. I do have an Instagram account (username: letseatsnappost), which I post a bit more there. It’s a bit easier.

But yesterday, June 1st, 2014, I started a juice cleanse. I am doing this with my mom, my sister, and my two aunts, however, they aren’t starting until today. I’m not sure how long I will be doing this for, but at least 3 days.

I have always wanted to try a juice cleanse and was thinking of trying out the Blue Print one, but the cost was off-putting. I knew it was much cheaper to make your own juices.

So this past week, I planned out all the juices and went grocery shopping. Buying 3 days worth of juice ingredients for 5 people is not only a lot but terrifying. One recipe will call for 2 apples but the recipe will be used 3 times in one day. That means for 5 people, I have to buy 30 apples just for one recipe! Crazy!

juice cleanse planning

Planning the juice cleanse for 5 people.

 

When I researched what juice recipes to use, I looked at the different kinds of juices people used in their own juice cleanse. It was combination of green, red, and orange juices. So, I looked for different recipes of each kind of juice, and how many of each kind to drink a day.

Here is the juice schedule I ended up planning:

  • Breakfast
    • Green tea
    • Green Juice + Water
    • Orange Juice + Water
  • Lunch
    • Green Juice + Water
    • Red Juice + Water
  • Dinner
    • Green Juice + Water
    • Orange Juice + Water
  • Evening
    • Green Juice or Cashew Milk Juice, or Almond Milk Juice
    • Green Tea

The evening part is kind of like dessert or a snack. I opted for an extra green juice instead of the cashew or almond milk because making juices of those for 5 people every day is exhausting.

 

So for Day 1, here are the juices I used:

  • Green Juice #1 (can’t seem to find where I got the recipe from! :()
    • 2 Apples
    • 1 Cucumber
    • 1/2 cup Blueberries
    • 1 cups of Grapes
    • 2 Kale Leaves

Let the juice cleanse begin! #juice #juicecleanse #healthy #greenjuice #vscocam

A post shared by @eat.snap.post on

  • Green Juice #2 (from EatingWell.com)
    • 1 1/2 cups spinach
    • 1/2 grapefruit, peeled, white pith removed
    • 2 green apples, cut into eighths
    • 1 1-inch piece peeled fresh ginger
    • 2 large stalks celery

 

  • Orange Juice (from EatingWell.com)
    • 6 fresh strawberries, hulled
    • 1 large cucumber, peeled and cut into chunks
    • 1 large red apple, cut into eighths
    • 2 medium carrots, peeled

Not your typical orange juice. #juice #juicecleanse #healthy #orangejuice #vscocam

A post shared by @eat.snap.post on

  • Red Juice (from What’s Gaby Cooking)
    • 1 apple, quartered
    • 2 red beets, quartered
    • 3 large carrots
    • 1 orange, rind removed
    • 1 (1-inch) piece of ginger
    • 1 handful spinach

Half of my dinner. #juice #juicecleanse #healthy #redjuice #vscocam

A post shared by @eat.snap.post on

Note: I will be using all of these on my third day of the juice cleanse.

You might be wondering why I am doing it. Well, I am doing this juice cleanse because I want a quick way to lose weight, then I will (hopefully) start to eat healthier and most definitely start working out (I have a run in over a month!).

————

At the end of day 1, I was exhausted. It wasn’t because of the juice cleanse though. It was due to the fact that I had to prepare 4 other sets of juices while being on the cleanse. From 8AM to 1AM, I was doing nothing but preparing juices!

I did have the occasional hungry feeling and craving for a burger and fries. That was mainly from drinking the red juice (It is gross!). But other than that, I felt fine. I did have to pee at least twice after each juice. I didn’t go do the other thing, surprisingly. I guess I should have drank green tea for that, but I didn’t.

Well, I survived Day 1 of the cleanse. Let’s see if I can keep going.

– Synthia T.

 

Disclaimer: I am not a dietitian or nutritionist. I recommend you consult with a registered dietitian/nutritionist if you are unsure about whether or not you should go on a juice cleanse, and on the ingredients/recipes to use. 

One thought on “Juice Cleanse: Day 1

  1. […] juices I drank are the same ones as Day 1, which you can find the recipes here. However, since I didn’t have enough of each ingredient, I substituted different fruits and […]

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

All original content is property of Eat. Snap. Post. and copyrighted, unless otherwise indicated. No copyright infringement is intended.

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

