Juice Cleanse: Day 6

Leave a comment

June 6, 2014 by synthiat

It’s Day 6. It’s the last day of my juice cleanse! Too bad it had to fall on National Doughnut Day. But it is what it is. I woke up much later today because I was up till 6AM watching Doctor Who. I didn’t get up till about 12:30PM.

Surprisingly, I wasn’t hungry when I woke up because I went to bed hungry. I had a cup of green tea to ease it and get rid of that horrible Green Juice taste. It wasn’t enough to satisfy my hunger though.

I didn’t start my breakfast juices till around 2PM. I forced myself to drink the juices. I ended up chugging that wretched Green Juice and an Orange Juice. Chugging it was the only way I could drink them, otherwise they would not sit well with my stomach. Even then, they didn’t. So, I made a cup of green tea to help ease the nausea.

I didn’t drink again until around 8PM. Those two morning juices put me off. It’s my last day and I knew I could go on the rest of the day without drinking them. But since the last few juices I had left were new recipes, I figured I should drink them.

day 6 juice cleanse

The Green Juice is the first Green Juice I had when I started the cleanse. The taste is significantly better than the one I had in the morning. Then I had two new juices to drink: an Orange Juice and the Treat.

strawberry wedge juice 2

The Orange Juice is a new recipe I came up with. I had quite a bit of fruits and vegetables leftover, so I created a combination that I thought would work nicely. Here’s what’s in the Orange Juice:

  • 1 wedge of red cabbage
  • 6 carrots
  • 1 orange
  • 1 1/2 apples
  • 5 strawberries

strawberry wedge juice

The juice is sweet and the strawberries overpower the most. You can also taste a hint of the red cabbage and carrots, which those vegetables are unfortunately, the aftertaste. When you smell the juice, the red cabbage scent is the strongest. It is off-putting but the taste is not the same. I categorized the juice as an Orange Juice because there were more carrots than any of the other ingredients. But, the colour is more of a dark, salmon pink. I think I will call this drink “The Strawberry Wedge.” I must say though, this juice is great to make for the summer.

Now, the Treat juice. I call it this because it’s the last juice I made. Based on the ingredients, I thought it would be the best tasting one. Here is the recipe:

  • 12 strawberries
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1/2 a wedge of red cabbage
  • 1/2 a carrot

treat juice

With 12 strawberries in the drink, I thought it would be a good sweet juice. Boy, was I wrong. It was sweet but not sweet enough. You can definitely taste the red cabbage and cucumber. The strawberries give it the sweet taste, but it’s not enough to overpower the red cabbage and cucumber, in my opinion. It also has the red cabbage as the aftertaste. Not the best aftertaste.

—-

It’s the last day of the cleanse. Here are my answers to questions you may have.

Was it worth it?

Yes and no. Most people go on the cleanse to detox the body from all the greasy, processed food they have been eating. I actually went on it to lose weight. I couldn’t fit my clothes from last year, and I really couldn’t afford to keep buying new clothes, so I did the cleanse for a quick weight loss. So, it was worth it because I lost weight. It wasn’t worth it because I maintained the same amount of weight loss for all 6 days. I didn’t need to extend to 6 days.

 

Did you lose weight? If so, how much?

I did lose weight – about 3 to 4 pounds in 6 days. I wouldn’t say it’s the healthiest way to lose weight. But, I needed a quick shed and then I will finally start running again to maintain it off. Within the first two days, I lost 3 to 4 pounds and that’s all I continued to lose. I would gain about 2 pounds back when I drank the juices, then they would be gone the next day. Your body is smart. It knows that when you are depriving it of the nutrients it needs, it will hold onto the ones you do give it tightly.

 

What were your favourite juices?

Green Juice #1:

  • 2 Apples
  • 1 Cucumber
  • 1/2 cup Blueberries
  • 1 cups of Grapes
  • 2 Kale Leaves

 

Sunshine:

  • 2 bananas
  • 1 orange

 

Did you have any cravings?

YES. On the first day after having the first Red Juice, I immediately wanted a burger and fries. I also craved chips and doughnuts.

 

Would you consider do it again?

Probably not. Because I had to make about 30 juices a day (for myself, my mom, sister, and two aunts), it was exhausting on myself. The first day, from 8AM to 2AM, all I was doing was making juices. So, if you are going to do a juice cleanse, please just make it for yourself. It is not worth it if you are making it for others as well. Also, I ended up getting tired of the juices, and I think I’ve developed a slight taste aversion to juices now.

 

Any advice for future juice cleansers?

A 3-day juice cleanse is all you need. It is not necessary to do a longer one. Your body detoxes itself on a regular basis. By only drinking juices will not detox it more. You are only depriving your body of the nutrients that it needs.

Do light exercise while on it. It could be a walk, yoga, Pilates, or a light, short jog. Nothing to strenuous since your body isn’t receiving as much energy as you are expelling.

Drink plenty of water and green tea. I didn’t drink as much water as I should have, but the green tea really helped when I was hungry or felt nauseous.

And again, if you are making your own juices, please only make it for yourself.

It was a nice experience. I didn’t realized how strong I was by making all these juices, with barely any nutrients, and little sleep. I guess I was pretty determined.

But, I am REALLY glad it’s done. All I want now is a burger. Too bad it’ll be next week until I get one. I have to slowly introduce solids and something other than fruits and vegetables into my diet. Wish me luck!

And lastly, I made this hand lettering piece in honour of my juice cleanse. This is a list of all the ingredients I used for the juices.

hand lettering juice cleanse

If you have any other questions or comments, leave them in the comments below 🙂

– Synthia T.

 

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

All original content is property of Eat. Snap. Post. and copyrighted, unless otherwise indicated. No copyright infringement is intended.

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

