A1 Sweets

1

December 9, 2014 by synthiat

From my Browns Social House post, I mentioned that I wanted to have Indian food for lunch. I mainly just wanted to eat the samosas from A1 Sweets. A while back, my aunt bought me a couple to try and I was instantly hooked. So after my sister, cousins, and I did our Secret Santa shopping, we went to A1 Sweets to grab samosas and other food.

A1 Sweets is an Indian vegetarian restaurant. There are only two locations: Scarborough and Oakville. I go to the Oakville one. The place is decent size for the area that it’s in. It’s big enough to have people dine in.

What we didn’t know till we arrived was that they had a buffet option! I can’t remember the prices but depending on the day, it’s between $10-$12. For buffet, that’s a pretty good price!

As I mentioned, I’ve only had the samosas at this place. The best part of the samosas, besides the taste, is that it’s 2 for $1 (for takeout) or $1 dine-in. Even for the dine-in price, it’s still a fair price because these samosas are huge.

Samosa

Samosa

A1 sWEETS

They’re about the size of a baseball! No joke! And they taste amazing. It’s got the right amount of spices in it. It’s a little bit spicy but that adds to the taste experience. The samosas also come with the two dipping sauces: mint/cilantro chutney and tamarind chutney.

Dipping sauces

Dipping sauces

I’ve never had the mint/cilantro one before but it’s definitely got an onion-like taste. It’s not overpowering but I prefer the tamarind sauce. The tamarind one is sweet and helps to balance the spice of the samosas for me.

Besides the samosas, which I ordered 4 of, I also decided to try something new. I ordered the Kari Pakora. It’s a yogurt based curry with potato fritters. I wasn’t sure what to expect. The place didn’t have a photo of the item and with their buffet, none of the items were labelled.

Kari Pakora

Kari Pakora with potato fritters

I assumed it would be less spicy because it was yogurt based. I love spicy foods but I can only handle so much. When ordering take out, you can have a small, medium, or jumbo size. Since I’ve never had Kari Pakora before, I chose the small size. I believe it was $3.99 for it.

I actually didn’t eat it until the next day. But I am quite happy with my selection. The Kari Pakora tasted similar to Chinese curry. It definitely got spicy near the end. I was planning to eat it with rice, which would have minimized the spiciness, but I ended up eating it with my samosas.

There were about two potato fritters in my order. They were a little different from what I’d expect potato fritters to be. They had a tofu like texture. It was odd but it wasn’t bad. Also, it had something in it that looked like dates or olives. I couldn’t tell. But I don’t like dates or olives so I didn’t eat them.

Overall, I was pleased with my order. Honestly, if you ever want amazing samosas, this is the place to go. Plus, the prices are quite cheap for all of their items! I for sure will go back again and hopefully try more of the menu.

– Synthia T.

 

 

One thought on “A1 Sweets

  1. […] craving for Indian food. The only thing bad thing was the samosa. It was good, but the samosas at A1 Sweets are infinitely better and nothing has yet to […]

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

All original content is property of Eat. Snap. Post. and copyrighted, unless otherwise indicated. No copyright infringement is intended.

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

