Crème Brûlée

Leave a comment

January 28, 2015 by synthiat

Back in July, more specifically Canada Day, I attempted making crème brûlée for the first time. I had bought a crème brûlée set back in April and was eager to start using it. I knew that if I made my own batch, I would need to make at least two batches for my family.

So before I began making the batches, I researched for the simplest and easy-to-follow recipe, since I was no expert. I came across this recipe from A Sweet Pea Chef, a food blog from Lacey Baier. Her recipe may look daunting because of the water bath, but I found it to be the easiest and most simple one.

The recipe calls for the following:

  • 1 pint whipping or heavy cream (2 cups)
  • 4 egg yolks from large eggs
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • pinch salt, optional and to taste
  • about 3 to 4 cups water, for water bath
  • 1 to 2 teaspoons superfine sugar per each ramekin, for caramelizing (granulated may be substituted but superfine melts more smoothly and evenly)

creme brulee

Once you have all your ingredients, you will need to first preheat your oven to 325 °F. Then mix the egg yolks and sugar until the mixture is smooth. Once it is, slowly add in the cream and milk. Try not to create extra bubbles during this part.

creme brulee

When you have all the ingredients mixed, simply fill up your ramekins (I filled mine up to about 0.5 inch to 1 inch from the top.).

Soup-sized crème brûlée.

 

Then place the ramekins on an oven tray that’s deep enough where you can fill it with water. This is to help warm up the bottom half of the mixture. I fill the tray with water about half way up the ramekins. Once you’ve done that, pop the tray into the oven and let it bake for about 45 minutes to 1 hour.

IMG_9742_2

You will have to keep an eye out on them every 10-15 minutes when you have about 35 minutes left. Depending on the mixture, it may actually take a bit longer than an hour to bake. When the mixture is done, you should get a clean toothpick once you insert in the centre.

creme brulee

creme brulee

When it is done, take the ramekins off the tray and let them cool for about 15 minutes. After, sprinkle some sugar on top and torch up the dishes!

creme brulee

If you don’t have a torch, A Sweet Pea Chef has an alternative. But the set I bought came with one, thus I had to use it.

After making crème brûlée for the first time on Canada Day, I never knew how simple it was. I tell all my family and friends that it truly is easy to make but it’s a lot of waiting (what recipe isn’t nowadays!). Crème Brûlée has become my go-to baking dish and I’ve even experimented with coffee-flavoured and mocha-flavoured. The coffee one was superb, but the mocha one went weird when I baked it.

Here’s a shot of the batch I made on Christmas day.

creme brulee

If you ever made crème brûlée, let me know how it was for you. And if you’ve experimented with different flavours, let me know too!

Happy Baking!

– Synthia T.

 

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

All original content is property of Eat. Snap. Post. and copyrighted, unless otherwise indicated. No copyright infringement is intended.

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

