Korean Fried Chicken

3

February 11, 2015 by synthiat

Whenever my friends and I walk around Koreatown, we almost always have Korean Fried Chicken. I’m always skeptical about Asian chicken dishes (FYI- I’m Asian), mainly because I’ve had Asian chicken dishes ever since I was born and got sick of the flavours quickly.

My first time eating Korean Fried Chicken, I was immediately impressed. It was a nice crunch and the sauce tasted amazing. The sauce had a sweet and tangy taste – almost like sweet and sour sauce but better, if that makes any sense.

Being a foodie, most of the videos I watch on YouTube, or channels that I subscribe to, are food related. I came across Maangchi a year or two ago and found out that she had a recipe for Korean Fried Chicken.

I’ve watched Maangchi’s video on Korean Fried Chicken numerous times, drooling and craving each time I watched it. I had been waiting for a time to make Korean Fried Chicken, so with my mom away, this was the perfect opportunity.

Maangchi actually has two recipes for Korean Fried Chicken, but I decided to make the easier and more crispy version. Here’s the link to her recipe.

These are the ingredients that her recipe calls for:

  • 3½ pounds chicken wings (about 1.6 kg), washed and drained
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon minced ginger
  • 2/3 cup potato starch or corn starch
  • 1/3 cup peanuts (optional)
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 to 4 large dried red chili peppers, seeded, cut crosswise into ⅓ inch pieces (optional)
  • ¼ cup soy sauce
  • ½ cup rice syrup or corn syrup
  • 1 tablespoon white vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon mustard (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon sesame seeds
  • Grapeseed oil (or vegetable oil, peanut oil)

All the optional items, I didn’t use (less mess!). Also, I used corn starch, corn syrup, and vegetable oil. I didn’t have white vinegar as well but because I needed only 1 tablespoon, I found out that lemon juice can be a substitute. I’m assuming the vinegar is to give the sauce that tang.

I won’t go into detail about every step – you can check out Maangchi’s site for that – but here are photos to illustrate what I did.

Washed and strained chicken drumsticks

Washed and strained chicken drumsticks

Seasoned (black pepper, salt, and ginger) chicken drumsticks

Seasoned (black pepper, salt, and ginger) chicken drumsticks

Using corn starch to coat the drumsticks

Using corn starch to coat the drumsticks

Drumsticks all coated!

Drumsticks all coated!

Frying up the drumsticks!

Frying up the drumsticks!

Batch 1 is done

Batch 1 is done

First two batches are fried up!

First two batches are fried up!

Making the sauce

Making the sauce

Time to fry the drumsticks again. This is how you get them to be crispy and crunchy. Back in the pot they go!

Time to fry the drumsticks again. This is how you get them to be crispy and crunchy. Back in the pot they go!

Add the sauce, sprinkle sesame seeds, and you\re good to go!

Add the sauce, sprinkle sesame seeds, and you\re good to go!

The chicken was definitely crispy and crunchy. The sauce was a bit salty and that’s because I made a mistake of adding Maggi as my soy sauce (My bad!). Although, it definitely needed the red peppers to give that little punch of flavour. But, since this was my first time making it, it wasn’t all that bad. Now I know what to improve on and make this my next go-to dish (Time to retire the Tortellini Bake!).

If you’ve ever made Korean Fried Chicken, let me know what you’ve done that’s different. I would love to see the different kinds of spices and flavours used to make this dish.

And if you love Korean food, subscribe to Maangchi’s channel – you won’t be disappointed!

 

– Synthia T.

Twitter: @eatsnappost / Instagram: @eat.snap.post

 

3 thoughts on “Korean Fried Chicken

  1. These look good. What was the reason why you used drumsticks instead of wings? Do they take a bit longer to cook as they are bigger?

  2. […] Earlier this month, I went to one of the new Indian restaurants that opened in my town. This was the day that I had just made my Korean Fried Chicken. […]

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer:

All original content is property of Eat. Snap. Post. and copyrighted, unless otherwise indicated. No copyright infringement is intended.

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

